The Twelve Astrological Houses

The First House

The astrological sign that is on the cusp of the first house is referred to as our Ascendant or rising sign. This is the sign that is coming up over the eastern horizon at your time of birth.

The first house is the house of your personality as perceived by others and how you look at life yourself. The ascendant can also have a bearing on your physical appearance, ego, attitudes and sometimes our temperament. The three most telling parts in a natal chart are persons' Sun, Moon and Ascendant.

Any planet in the first house exerts a powerful influence on a person. Someone with a large number of planets in their first house may have a highly individualistic and independent personality, finding it hard to connect with others.

The ascendant or first house is ruled by the planet Mars and the sign of Aires.

The Second House

The second house is the house of material possessions. It reflects our attitudes towards money, and about how we go about earning and spending it. The second house also represents our need for security on an emotional level and is related to our self-worth.

Planets in the second house have a bearing on our attitudes to security and worldly possessions. Mars in the second house for example could bring a reckless impulsive attitude towards money while Jupiter the planet of good luck may bring expansion of your goals and dreams.

The second house is ruled by the planet Venus and the sign of Taurus.

The Third House

The third house rules communication and short distance travel. It relates to early education, how we learn and adapt to new ideas. It encompasses our interaction with others on a daily basis and in our own environment. Our relationship with siblings is shown within this house, as is routine travel. The deeper areas of learning and of long distance travel are to be found in the ninth house.

The planets within the third house are indicative of your interaction with neighbors and siblings and such things as driving. Mars in the third house will bring a more aggressive and energetic energy to routine encounters. Venus in the third house on the other hand will manifest itself in more harmonious encounters and aesthetic surroundings. Many planets in the third house indicates a lot of interaction with other people.

The third house is ruled by the planet Mercury and the sign of Gemini.

The Fourth House

The sign on the cusp of the fourth house is called our Immum Coeli as it is opposite our Medium Coeli. This house relates to our private life and to our home. It deals with the beginning and the end of life. It is involved with such things as our childhood and our parents. It is also to do with real estate and property.

Many planets in the fourth house may indicate someone who is intensely private and may have a tendency to live in the past.

The fourth house is ruled by the Moon and the sign of Cancer.

The Fifth House

The fifth house relates to the things that give us pleasure and to creativity. It relates to romance and whom we are attracted to but not necessarily to marriage, which is covered in the seventh house. It relates to children and the love you receive. It is also involved with pleasant past-times, sport, creativity as well as gambling and other risk-taking.

Planets in the fifth house indicate the energies that may be used creatively.

The fifth house is ruled by the Sun and the sign of Leo.

The Sixth House

The sixth house refers to service to the outside world. It relates to your work in that it involves your interaction with superiors but does not relate to your career as much as your tenth house does. It also relates to health, hygiene, our habits and our ability to adapt.

The planets in your sixth house show the energies that you may bring to your employment as well as your general health.

The sixth house is ruled by Mercury and the sign of Virgo

The Seventh House

The sign that is on the seventh house is also known as the Descendant (as it is opposite the Ascendant). The seventh house is often called the house of marriage. It relates to all our one-on-one relationships, including business partners and our enemies as well as our loved ones. The seventh house deals with commitment and often shows the traits that we look for in a marriage partner.

Many planets in the seventh house indicates a strong need for interaction with others. These people are often happier in a close relationships than by themselves.

The seventh house is ruled by Venus and the sign of Libra.

The Eighth House

The eighth house relates to life, death, rebirth, transformations, sex, money and possessions. It relates to other peoples' money such as legacies, insurance and loans. It also rules big business and crime.

The planets within the eighth house are likely to have a profound affect on our lives and emotions and are likely to be linked with change.

The eighth house is ruled by Pluto and the sign of Scorpio.

The Ninth House

The ninth house is concerned with deep thinking, philosophical views and our continuing education. It is also related to long distance travel and our interaction with people from other countries. It is in effect the further development and expansion of the third house.

Planets in the ninth house give some indication of the ways we are likely to grow within ourselves.

The ninth house is ruled by the planet Jupiter, and the sign of Sagittarius.

The Tenth House

The sign on the cusp of the tenth house is referred to as our Medium Coeli or MidHeaven. The tenth house is concerned with ambition and career. It relates to our public standing and responsibilities and all things outside our home, just as the third house relates to all things within and around our home. It is also related to those with authority over us, beginning with your father in childhood and later on employers.

A large number of planets within the tenth house is indicative of a lot of energies directed towards achieving success.

The tenth house is ruled by the planet Saturn, and the sign of Capricorn.

The Eleventh House

The eleventh house rules our social lives and our wider circle of friends. As the fifth house rules what we do for our personal satisfaction the eleventh house rules our dealings in the larger social context. As this house is ruled by Uranus, the planet of sudden change it can also have an impact on events which are unexpected and sudden change.

The eleventh house is ruled by the planet Uranus, and the sign of Aquarius.

The Twelfth House

The twelfth house is concerned with all things hidden. Escapism and secrets are found within this house as are our frustrations and limitations.

Many planets in the twelfth house can be indicative of a susceptibility to drugs and/or compulsive behavior.

The twelfth house is ruled by the Planet Neptune, and the sign of Pisces.

This article courtesy of
You may freely reprint this article on your website or in
your newsletter provided this courtesy notice and the author
name and URL remain intact.

Submit Your Article

Subscribe to our House Painting newsletter!
Your email: